Unmukt Chand Selected By The Chattogram Challengers In The BPL Draft.


Unmukt Chand, the captain of India who won the 2012 Under-19 World Cup, will be the first Indian to play in the Bangladesh Premier League after being selected by Chattogram Challengers in the players’ draught on Wednesday (November 23). 

Unmukt Chand has previously submitted his name for the BPL draught, according to Cricbuzz. Cricketers under contract with the BCCI are prohibited from competing in foreign leagues, but Chand ceased playing domestic cricket in India in 2022 after agreeing to a three-year contract with Major League Cricket (MLC) in the United States. 

Unmukt Chand
Unmukt Chand (Photo: Twitter)

Unmukt Chand Chosen  In The Second Round By Chattogram Challengers

Unmukt Chand was chosen by Challengers in the second round of the foreign players category for the upcoming BPL, which will start on January 6. 

“We have picked him( Chand) as we wanted to have an Indian in our squad plus we can also have a fan base in India,” Challengers owner Rifatuzzaman told the media after the draft.

Unmukt Chand
Unmukt Chand (Image Credit: Twitter)

The 2019-2020 league champion Comilla Victorians, who had the first pick in the draft, selected the talented Litton Das after first signing Mustafizur Rahman as a direct signing. 

“Yes, he (Liton) played for us and but we have picked Mustafizur (as direct signing) as we wanted to make sure that our bowling strength is not compromised. In that sense you can say we are lucky to have the first call and get Litton,” Victorians head coach Mohammad Salahuddin told Cricbuzz during a break in between the draft.  

Mahmudullah and Shakib Al Hasan were signed directly by Fortune Barishal, while Mushfiqur Rahim and Mashrafe Mortaza were signed directly by Sylhet Strikers. Mominul Haque was not selected during the player draught. 

Mushfiqur Rahim and Mashrafe Mortaza
Mushfiqur Rahim and Mashrafe Mortaza. Credits: Twitter

After much drama, the Bangladesh Cricket Board was able to secure a franchise for Dhaka when Rupa Fabrics won the franchise rights even though they paid after the deadline. As part of their selections, they included Taskin Ahmed and Soumya Sarkar. 

Also Read: IND vs NZ: “He Is Not Your Typical T20 Bowler” Aakash Chopra Hails Mohammad Siraj’s Performance In T20I Series vs New Zealand

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.