PSL 2023: Multan Sultans breaks record of the highest team total against Quetta Gladiators


History was made in the 28th match of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023 between Multan Sultans and Quetta Gladiators at Pindi Ground in Rawalpindi on Saturday.

The Mohammad Rizwan-led Sultans scored the highest team total in PSL history when they ended with 262/3 in 20 overs. Sultans broke the record of the highest total, which was held by Islamabad United, which had recorded 247/2 against Peshawar Zalmi in 2021. In this edition itself, Multans had scored 244/6 against Zalmi.

The innings was led by explosive opener Usman Khan who smashed the fastest century of the tournament. Usman reached the milestone in just 36 deliveries before getting dismissed on 120 runs off 43 balls. The right-handed batter slammed 12 fours and nine humungous sixes during his whirlwind knock.

Apart from Usman, Sultans captain Rizwan also shined with the bat, notching a half-century and scoring 55 runs off 29 deliveries, including 6 fours and a couple of maximums. All-rounder Tim David‘s late flourish got the side past 250 runs. David stayed unbeaten on 43 off 25 balls with the help of five boundaries, including 4 sixes.

The Gladiators also came up with all guns blazing in their chase, which was fuelled by half-centuries from Omair Yousuf (67 off 36) and Iftikhar Ahmed (53 off 31). However, Multan seamer Abbas Afridi spoiled the party as he claimed a hat-trick in the death overs to leave the Gladiators short of the finish line. But Gladiators ended up making the second-highest total in the tournament history.

Highest team totals in PSL:

  • 262/3 – Multan Sultans vs Quetta Gladiators, 2023
  • 253/8 – Quetta Gladiators vs Multan Sultans, 2023
  • 247/2 – Islamabad United vs Peshawar Zalmi, 2021
  • 245/3 – Multan Sultans vs Quetta Gladiators, 2022
  • 244/6 – Multan Sultans vs Peshawar Zalmi, 2023

The exciting contest also saw the highest aggregate T20 score in history. Quetta and Multan’s teams combined to score a jaw-dropping 515 runs, leapfrogging the previous record set by South African T20 League’s Titans and Knight with their 501 total scored last year.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.