New Zealand Move To 4th Spot In Cricket World Cup Super League Points Table After Beating India By 7 Wicket Sin 1st ODI


Kane Williamson and Tom Latham helped New Zealand beat India in the first of the three ODIs which was played at Eden Park in Auckland by 7 wickets which resulted in them moving upwards in the ICC Cricket World Cup standings.

New Zealand bagged 10 CWCSL points and jumped two spots from sixth to fourth in the standings. They are currently tied on 120 points with Australia but are marginally behind on net run rate compared to their neighbors.

New Zealand were in a spot of bother at the 20-over mark as they were 88/3 with Daryl Mitchell losing his wicket to debutant Umran Malik. But then Tom Latham joined captain Kane Williamson, who was holding one end up and the duo began putting the pressure back on Indian bowlers.

ICC CWCSL standings table. PC- ICC
ICC CWCSL standings table. PC- ICC

Shikhar Dhawan and co’s decision to play with only five main bowlers proved to be their undoing as Latham hammered a 76-ball century and finished with 145* with 19 fours and 5 sixes to his name. Kane Williamson, on the other hand, made 94* with 7 fours and one six to his name as Kiwis won with 17 balls to spare.

Latham was given the Player of the Match award for his 145*. The 221* run stand for the fourth wicket between Latham and Williamson was the highest for the said position for New Zealand vs India in ODIs.

Kane Williamson and Tom Latham
Kane Williamson and Tom Latham. Pic Credits: Twitter.

This was also only the second time New Zealand chased down 300+ runs in an ODI against India. The first occasion was them chasing 348 runs in Hamilton in 2020.

Shreyas Iyer And Shikhar Dhawan Shine For India With The Bat, Umran Malik Does It With The Ball

Umran Malik Of India. PC- Getty
Umran Malik Of India. PC- Getty

India had handed ODI debuts to Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh and Umran shined with the ball, picking 2/66 in his 10 overs, while the left-armer Arshdeep went wicketless.

On the batting first, after Williamson won the toss and chose to bowl, Shikhar Dhawan with 72 and Shubman Gill with 50 added 124 runs for the opening wicket. On the other hand, Shreyas Iyer made 80 and Washington Sundar provided the finishing touches with 37* in 16 balls.

Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson picked three wickets each.

Also Read: IND vs NZ: “Built A Partnership With Kane Williamson And Had A Bit Of Fun” – Tom Latham After Match-winning ODI Ton vs India

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.