IPL 2023: David Warner All Set To Replace Rishabh Pant As Captain At Delhi Capitals In Upcoming IPL – Reports


The 36-year-old Australia National Cricket Team left-handed opening batsman David Warner is all set to replace the star wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant as skipper at the Delhi Capitals (DC) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, as per a report in ESPNcricinfo.

The 25-year-old Rishabh Pant has been ruled out of all cricketing actions for an indefinite period of time after he met with a horrific road accident in December last year.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score 

With Pant all set to miss the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Delhi Capitals (DC) were forced to look out for an interim captain for the side. As per the same report, the names of veteran opener David Warner and spin-bowling all-rounder Axar Patel, who was the vice-captain in 2022, were discussed for captaincy. However, the Australian star’s name was finalised.

Delhi Capitals To Hand Captaincy To David Warner – Reports

As per ESPNcricinfo, the Delhi Capitals head coach Ricky Ponting and the entire team management felt that David Warner was the right person to lead the side in the Indian Premier League 2023 in the absence of Rishabh Pant.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

David Warner previously led the Delhi-based franchise for a couple of matches during the last year of his first stint with the Delhi Daredevils between 2009 and 2013.

Warner brings a plethora of experience with him, having led the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to their maiden IPL title in 2016 after being appointed as the skipper of the franchise in 2015.

Talking about his numbers as a captain, he has led in 69 matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and won 35 while losing 32 and two being tied. David Warner has also got a great batting record while leading as he has scored 2840 runs at an average of 47.33 and a strike rate of 142.28, including one century and 26 fifties.

Also Read: IPL 2023: “When MS Dhoni Got Emotional…” : Shane Watson Shares Nostalgic Moment From His CSK Days

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.