ICC Nominates Nine Players For Player Of The Tournament In World Cup 2023, Four Indian Players Named


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has nominated a total of nine cricketers for the Player of the Tournament for the World Cup 2023. The global cricket board named four players from India, two each from Australia and New Zealand, and one from South Africa.

The World Cup 2023 is set to conclude with the final between India and Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday, November 19. The competition for the PoTT award is intense, showcasing outstanding individual achievements in the tournament.

Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, and Quinton de Kock are the frontrunners to secure the prestigious award. Ravindra Jadeja and Shreyas Iyer are notable omissions from the list.

ICC Nominates Nine Players For Player Of The Tournament

  • Virat Kohli (711 runs)
  • Adam Zampa (22 wickets)
  • Quinton de Kock (594 runs)
  • Mohammed Shami (23 wickets)
  • Rachin Ravindra (578 runs, five wickets)
  • Glenn Maxwell (398 runs and five wickets)
  • Rohit Sharma (550 runs)
  • Jasprit Bumrah (18 wickets)
  • Daryl Mitchell (552 runs)

Virat Kohli scored 711 runs and secured a century in India’s semi-final against New Zealand. Virat also achieved a record-breaking 50th ODI century. Glenn Maxwell exhibited brilliance in adverse conditions, smashing a match-winning double-century against Afghanistan.

Adam Zampa has delivered for his country on the big stage. Zampa bagged three four-wicket hauls and two three-wicket hauls. Mohammed Shami has been a constant threat to opposition batting line-ups, taking 23 wickets, including his best figures of 7/51.

Quinton de Kock amassed 591 runs in the World Cup, including four centuries in the tournament. Rachin Ravindra made a significant impact in his first World Cup with three centuries and two fifties. He also contributed with the ball, taking five wickets in the event.

Rohit Sharma scored 550 runs with one century and three half-centuries. Sharma made an impact during the powerplay, boasting a strike rate of 124.15. Jasprit Bumrah has been instrumental in India’s success with 18 wickets, including a best of 4/39 against Afghanistan.

Daryl Mitchell performed well in the World Cup, scoring 552 runs, with only Rachin Ravindra outscoring him among his teammates. His standout moment came in the semi-final clash against India, where he scored 134 runs in the chase.

Also read: Sunil Gavaskar Leaves Aside Mohammed Shami As He Picks India’s Player Of The Tournament In World Cup 2023


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.