Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera return as Sri Lanka announce T20I & ODI squads for New Zealand series


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Friday, announced their men’s squads for the upcoming limited-overs series against New Zealand. The white-ball leg features three ODIs and as many T20Is, starting Saturday (March 25) at Eden Park in Auckland.

Keeping the next ODI World Cup in mind, the selection committee has included veteran batter Angelo Mathews, who last played a 50-over international fixture in March 2021. Similarly, Kusal Perera has also been named in the T20I outfit, having last played a match in November 2021.

The likes of Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Avishka Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Jeffrey Vandersay and Nuwan Thushara have missed out from the squad. Likewise, Dushmantha Chameera has been ruled out of the New Zealand tour. The 31-year-old recently underwent ankle surgery and hasn’t recovered completely. Rookie pacer Matheesha Pathirana will be his replacement for the ODIs, while Pramod Madushan will fill in the T20I setup.

“The bowler will not be able to tour, as he is still undergoing his structured return-to-play program, a part of his rehabilitation program, following his left ankle surgery,” said SLC in an official statement.

Notably, the tourists are currently locking horns with Black Caps in the Test series, where New Zealand won the 2-match series opener on the last ball.

T20I squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana, Pramod Madushan.

ODI squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis (wk), Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.